On Selling Candies in Louisiana

The state of Louisiana has an interesting statute about selling candies in the state:

No manufacturer of candies or sweets or transient vendor selling candies or sweets, shall consign to or leave any candies or manufactured sweets on consignment with any person, firm or corporation other than schools, churches, religious societies and civil organization, who has not paid the privilege or license tax, required by law in order to obtain a license to sell and dispose of the articles.

Why you don’t need a license to sell candies to churches or schools eludes me. The fine for a first violation is $100; $500 for a subsequent violation.